Wednesday, January 18, 2012

International Days, National Days - Month-wise Lists


Knol Month of Regional Content - August
India Knol Month - August Campaign - Indian Knol Author Knol Information - India Knol Competitions
Friendship Day - First Sunday of August - 2 August 2009
International Day of the World Indigenous People - 9 August



World Alzheimer’s Day - 21 Septermber



Knol Months for Home Page Categories of Knol

Christian Sacred Days

Christian Festivals & Holy Days

Advent: time of preparation for observing the birth of Jesus.  Advent begins on the
Sunday nearest November 30 and is the beginning of the Christian worship year.  The season continues to the end of December 24.

All Hallow’s Eve: celebration as a prelude to All Saints Day.

All Saints’ Day:  day for honouring saints and a Holy Day of Obligation in the Roman
Catholic Church where saints have special formal status.

All Souls’ Day  : sometimes called the "Day of the Dead", this is always
November 2nd (celebrated on November 3rd if the 2nd is a Sunday). A Roman Catholic
day of remembrance for remembering friends and loved ones who have passed away.

Annunciation of the Blessed Virgin Mary: celebration on 25th  March of the visit
by the Angel Gabriel to the Virgin Mary announcing  the coming birth of Jesus.

Ascension of Jesus:    Celebrates the ascension of Jesus into heaven.

Ash Wednesday: The day Lent begins,  forty days before Good Friday.  Some
churches hold services at which worshippers are marked with ashes as a symbol
of death, and sorrow for sin. The use of ashes, made by burning palm crosses from the
previous Palm Sunday, is very symbolic.

Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary:  Roman Catholic observance honouring
the belief that Mary, the mother of Jesus, was was taken directly to heaven at her death.

Candlemas:   This festival takes place 40 days after Christmas and comes from two
separate events- the presentation of Jesus in the temple and the purification of the
Virgin Mary.

Christ the King:  Roman Catholic celebration of the pre-eminence of Jesus over all
earthly authorities.

Christmas Day:
The Christmas season begins at sundown on 24 December and lasts through sundown
on 5 January.

Christmas Eve:   Celebration of the arrival of Mary and Joseph in Bethlehem for the
birth of Jesus.

Easter:  The most holy of Christian sacred days. The day commemorates the
resurrection of Jesus Christ from his death by crucifixion.

Epiphany: Celebrated by most Christians  on January 6 to commemorate the
presentation of the infant Jesus to the  Magi, or three wise  men. Roman Catholics
celebrate Epiphany on the Sunday which falls between January 2 and January 8.

Feast of St. Basil:  Orthodox celebration of the liturgy.

Good Friday:  remembrance of the crucifixion of Jesus and related events.

Holy Pascha:   Greek and Russian Orthodox festival celebrating the resurrection of

Holy Thursday:  Observance of the final meal that Jesus observed with his disciples. It
is usually observed with the Sacrament of Holy Communion.

Holy Saturday:  Saturday before Easter – a time of meditation on the mystery of Jesus

Holy Week:   Christians observe the week before Easter with solemn ceremonies
based on events in Jesus’ life, especially on Holy Thursday and Good Friday.

Lammas:  First fruits celebration observed by placing bread baked from first harvest
on the altar.

Lazarus Saturday: Greek and Russian Orthodox festival remembering the
resurrection of Lazarus by Jesus. Observed on the day before Palm Sunday, attention is
called to the resurrection of people by Jesus.

Lent:  forty day period of preparation for Easter. A time of intense devotion, it is
observed by fasting.

Meatfare Sunday: Greek and Russian Orthodox observation of limiting of food in
order to fix attention on the Second Coming of Christ.

Nativity of the Mother of God:  Greek and Russian Orthodox celebration of the
birth of Mary, mother of Jesus.

Palm Sunday:  celebration of the entry of Jesus into Jerusalem. The day begins Holy
Week and is observed by worship celebrations and parades using palm branches.

Pentecost:  celebration of the day when the Holy Spirit came to the disciples in the
forms of tongues of fire and rushing wind. It is a traditional day for baptism and
confirmation of new Christians.

Sacred Heart: Catholic occasion to pay homage to Christ’s all encompassing love for

Hindu Festivals


Pongal - Sankranti

Gudi Padva, Ugadi, Chaitra Navaratra Celebrations
Rama Navami




Vinayaka Chaturdhi - Ganesh Chaturdhi - Vinayaka Chaviti





Hindu Festivals


No comments:

Post a Comment