Sunday, April 28, 2013

Georgia - National Day - 26 May

The Democratic Republic of Georgia was the first modern establishment of a Republic of Georgia. It existed from May 1918 to February 1921. The DRG was created after the collapse of the Russian Empire that began with the Russian Revolution of 1917. Georgia's capital is Tbilisi, and its state language was Georgian. Proclaimed on May 26, 1918, on the break-up of the Transcaucasian Federation, it was led by the Social Democratic Menshevik party. It collapsed between February and March 1921 to become a Soviet republic.

No comments:

Post a Comment